Skip to content

Participatory Storytelling

April 22, 2013

I choose to create a back story for Sam for this project. I turned it into a podcast.

Here is the link to my podcast.

http://alaskalynn1.podomatic.com/entry/2013-04-22T20_02_20-07_00

I had fun creating a back story for Sam. I went back and looked at the whole story and the diagram and what our options were. Storytelling in general is fun for me, so I thought I would continue in this framework and create a back story for Sam and turn it digital by creating a podcast. Once I figured out how to publish a podcast it was fairly easy. I wrote out the back story for Sam and recorded it on garage band. I then signed up for podomatic. I then exported my podcast to my itunes library where I was able to download it to my podomatic account and it published it. I then linked the podcast to my page.

My experience in the participatory story was fun. I was occasionally anxious, wondering if I had posted the requisite amount of posts per week, but I really liked the evolving story. The story didn’t always go the way I was expecting, but I was able to help the story along well I think. A few times in the process, I wasn’t sure what to put next in the story, so I just waited for the next person to post and then I was usually able to contribute to the story then. I do wish the story had gone a little quicker. I found myself checking back every few hours to see if someone posted yet so I could add to the story. Then, I would get busy and find that I hadn’t posted for almost a week. I would have loved to continue the story. I think this would be a great experience for any English class and probably other areas as well.

John. (n.d.). Participatory Storytelling. The Audible Eyeball β€”
Pictures That Break The Sound Barrier. Retrieved April 23, 2013,
from http://www.audibleyeball.com/participatory-storytelling/

Schardt, S. (n.d.). MediaShift . Public Media Reinvents Itself With
‘Full-Spectrum’ Storytelling | PBS. PBS: Public Broadcasting
Service. Retrieved April 20, 2013, from
http://www.pbs.org/mediashift/2012/09/public-media-reinvents-
itself-with-full-spectrum-storytelling270.html

Storytelling – Playtivity Drumming and Storytelling Programs
Connecticut New England. (n.d.). Playtivity Community Drumming
Programs – Playtivity Drumming and Storytelling Programs
Connecticut New England. Retrieved April 20, 2013, from
http://jestplaytivity.com/storytelling/

Mann, S., and K. Russell, Worlds colliding: Participatory
storytelling and indigenous culture in building interactive
games, in International Cultural Heritage Informatics Meeting
(ICHIM07): Proceedings, J. Trant and D. Bearman (eds). Toronto:
Archives & Museum Informatics. 2007. Published October 24, 2007
at http://www.archimuse.com/ichim07/papers/mann/mann.html

Woodle, Annie . “How to make a podcast in GarageBand – YouTube.”
YouTube. N.p., n.d. Web. 20 Apr. 2013.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kristine permalink
    April 22, 2013 8:06 pm

    Thank you for taking the fear out of this for me. I liked the fact that Sam now has a backstory. I think I might steal your idea and create one for Blaine as well.

    There is only one thing in your works cited. Is there anymore research that you could share with us? I am struggling with finding examples of participatory storytelling to inspire me. Thanks for being the first (or second, I can’t keep track).

  2. Kelly Gebauer permalink
    April 29, 2013 10:14 pm

    I enjoyed the back story and the depth it gave to the character of Sam. It will be interesting to see what everyone does to continue and add to the story. Our story will end up with many layers to explore. My experience was similar to yours. I enjoyed creating the story, but also found sometimes I wasn’t sure what to write. Twitter has so many more uses than I would have ever thought of. I’m excited to do something similar when I’m an English teacher. Thanks for sharing.

    Technical stuff. For the sources you give at the end just to clarify are they citations or just sources that you used in your creation and for us to explore?

  3. May 2, 2013 8:49 pm

    Ditto Kelly’s and Kristine’s comments about giving Sam a backstory. When I initially conceived of this project, I had hoped that these would develop–at least in the Forum or our discussions on Edmodo–but the nature of Twitter worked against us in that regard. That’s why I’m so happy to see that you took this on. It’s a creative way to approach the story–which I think I’ll go reread now that I have some more insight into Sam’s character and motivation.

    I also appreciate that you chose an audio podcast as a vehicle for this assignment. There is so much potential for audio in storytelling that we often overlook in favor of more visually appealing tools, but there is a power to audio that makes it very compelling. I do think you could have added some depth to the story with some sound effects or music, but it stands very well as it is.

    GReat works cited section and a nice collection of resources that I’m going to have to pursue in greater depth.

Leave a Reply

