Skip to content

AR QR Assignment

April 12, 2013
tags: ,

Using Layar on your phone:

Scan with Layar

Flashback, Present, Foreshadowing

I did manage to have success with the layar program. You sign up free and as the website says, “Layar is an industry-leading company at the forefront of the rapidly emerging medium of augmented reality (AR). AR is a way viewing digital information which has been superimposed – or augmented – onto a live view of the physical, real-world environment around you.”

So, basically, you use your phone to scan a magazine or poster or business card and it will give you a variety of options to go to a website or see a video/audio file and many other things. According to the website it has really increased sales when it was used in various campaigns.

I did something very basic, I used a picture that I made to exemplify 3 literary terms. Then I made buttons to connect each to examples of each to a youtube video that showed an example of the term.

The three main problems I have with this program are that: one you have to download their app to your phone for it to work. Two, you can’t just click on it like a website if it is digital media, you have to scan it with your phone, which is a major flaw. I can see this being used in digital magazines, but you would have to take out your phone to go to the link. With the emergence of tablets, this is a huge limiting feature of this technology. Third, the most irritating thing is that once I published it, I couldn’t find out where it was published to make a link to it. I couldn’t even find out how to print it like it is supposed to be used.

You need to download Layar on your phone and to see how it works. You then push the test button at the website and then you scan it with your phone to see the videos that I layered onto the picture.

Update: I don’t think I understood the technology before. I thought that there was something embedded into the picture itself. But, it seems that the program layar recognizes the photo and then connects that to what you have layar-ed onto the picture. So, the picture is now up for your viewing pleasure…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2013 2:32 pm

    I was able to log in and test your Layar project. You should be able to load the image of your family onto your blog and anyone pointing at it with Layar should be able to interact with it. It appears that your project has been published, so that’s all you should need to do.

    • April 19, 2013 11:49 am

      Thanks Skip, I just did that. I don’t think I completely understood how it worked, now I do and the picture is posted.

  2. Jodi Doster permalink
    April 15, 2013 9:49 pm

    Lynn I thought about your blog post as I did mine and I was able to upload my trigger image to my blog and it works. It would be much easier to see and interact with your project if you did that with your picture too as Skip suggests. It worked for me.

  3. kristine permalink
    April 19, 2013 10:21 am

    I got a little confused in your fourth paragraph. I understood it to mean that you can only use your phone to view the AR, and that tablets will not work. Is this true or am I misunderstanding? I read it a couple of times and got the same impression.

    AR seems like such a great technology, but pretty much everyone’s blog, that I’ve read, has stated that they struggled with it in some way or another. I am excited for it to become more user-friendly. I encourage you to try out QR. It is way more user-friendly and easy to implement with a quickness.

    I enjoyed the post. It was short, sweet, and to the point.

    • April 19, 2013 11:48 am

      I changed the paragraph a little, hopefully it makes more sense. Which QR program did you use?

    • April 19, 2013 2:24 pm

      Any mobile device running the Layar app will be able to view the layers that Lynn added.

  4. April 21, 2013 7:14 pm

    I’m glad you were able to work successfully with Layar, even given your initial difficulties. I think you’ve “got it” in terms of how AR can be used instructionally. I’d still like to see the references you consulted (and a Works Cited section) worked into your discussion of AR. What is the literature saying about AR, and how was this reflected in your experience?

  5. Kelly Gebauer permalink
    April 29, 2013 10:08 pm

    Nice use of Layer. I used it too and enjoyed creating links and making a story from it. I’m glad you learned more about what Layer is and AR. Did you explore QR codes? I’m also curious how you think AR fits into the evolving world of today. What were the positive aspects of you experience?

    I also feel before your picture you need a little introduction to guide us into it a little more, making it experiential. Maybe giving some background on the picture so we can connect with you as an audience.

    I appreciated your honesty and evaluation of Layer. It does take some getting used to.

    Technical APA stuff. You do have direct quotes so makes sure you have your citations at the end with references at the beginning.

Leave a Reply

