Skip to content

Day 9 Maker’s diet and a headache.

September 7, 2011

So, yesterday I ended up having a massive headache. Usually my headaches can be tied to some source, like the food I eat. One of the reasons I am doing this diet/way of eating is because a lot of processed foods give me a migraine. I get a headache from MSG, maltodextrin and artificial sweeteners. But, I couldn’t tie this headache to anything I ate.

Along with the headache, I also got light-headed and felt really out of it. When I left work, I was actually sort of afraid to drive. But, I managed to get home safely and pick up my daughter as well.

And yeah, I do get a little hypoglycemic, but I had eaten in the last hour and I wasn’t hungry. But, sometimes when I feel like this I just need dinner, a snack won’t do…

I went home and laid on the couch while kiddo played in the living room. Pete was super-sweet and made me dinner while I lay there. He heated up some fish soup my sister made. (By the way sis, really good). But, I knew it had flour in it as a thickening agent, and white flour is not on my diet, so I decided that could be one of my cheat meals this week. So, since I was having a cheat meal anyway, I decided to make some garlic bread, since I was worried that I was feeling this way because I hadn’t had carbs much.

Moral of the story: I don’t know if the bread helped or not but I did feel a lot better after dinner and I was eventually able to function almost normally.

Side Note: When you have a headache, don’t swing your 15-month-old daughter up in the air and let her head connect with your chin. It won’t help your headache, your child will cry and you will still be feeling it the next day…

Update: Headache was probably due to a cold, seems like a lot of people were out of commission with headaches this week…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    September 9, 2011 10:49 pm

    I have been getting a lot of headaches lately and tonight this one is rapidly turning into a migraine. Even with some heavy pain meds I am still feeling like a 2×4 hit me upside the head! What is the Maker’s diet? Sounds interesting. Hope you are doing better!

Leave a Reply

