Skip to content

Cheese and sourdough

April 13, 2011

This weekend, I had a mad cooking rush… I made cheddar cheese, cheese curds, soft cheese and a bunch of sourdough things. I made 4 loaves of sourdough bread, sourdough waffles and sourdough English muffins…We are still eating off all the yummy things I made this weekend.

Now, I am not usually that motivated, but I have been working on my master’s and I haven’t had the time to do much of anything other than write. I did manage a little time with my beautiful daughter and husband šŸ™‚

Well, back to the cheese… I am doing the e-course from gnowfglins. Love it! Anyway, the night before, I added cheese culture to a 1/2 gallon of milk in a 1/2 gallon glass jar (thanks to Christy for the jars!) Then I let it sit on the counter. The next day, 12 hours later, I poured the concoction into cheese cloth, let it drain until it didn’t drip anymore whey. I then scraped it out and tried it.

Sadly, we were not fans šŸ˜¦ I stirred in some herbs and tried it with crackers and it was pretty good. It tasted like a herb-y dip. But, neither my husband or I eat much of that kind of food, so I brought is over to a friends house. I figured that it would get eaten over there…

Next post…cheddar cheese!

Check out other great ideas for living more sustainably over at the Simple Lives Thursday blog hop. You’ll find this story and much much more!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 5:09 am

    wow I’m impressed, that’s a lot of cooking in one weekend! I made yogurt cheese before, that sounds pretty similar to what you described but is probably a lot easier >< it's such a shame to let all that chees go to waste! you could try putting it into cooked dishes maybe?

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/01/spinach-and-mushroom-stuffed-chicken.html

    • April 14, 2011 7:14 am

      I think it would be really good in eggs or used like cream cheese. But, I gave the batch to a friend of mine that I thought would appreciate it. Plus, she has a big family and I knew it wouldn’t go to waste.

  2. April 14, 2011 10:13 am

    I’ve had cheese making on my list of things to learn for ages now. I can’t wait to see the cheddar cheese experiment! Are you up in Alaska BTW? I looked like it from the picture on your banner.

    • April 14, 2011 11:22 am

      Yep, in AK…I had fun making the cheese, so much so that we will definitely planning on making lots more!

Leave a Reply

