Skip to content

Review of the Nook

February 4, 2011
tags:

I have had the Nook by Barnes and Noble for about a year. First let me say, I am an avid reader. When I say avid reader, I am not kidding. In four days, I will have had my nook for 1 year exactly. In that time, I have downloaded 221 books. There are maybe 10-20 books at most on my nook that I have not read.

My husband bought it for me as a present. He also thought it was a wise investment, since e-books are cheaper than the real thing. But, I love this thing. I wasn’t sure how I would like it. I thought since I read so fast, the pages would be too slow, I would miss turning the pages or I would miss the smell of a new book. But, I have found that the convenience has far out weighed the these concerns.

I recently had a kiddo, and that first few weeks or so, you are awake a lot. There were many times that I would be sitting there feeding kiddo and I would read. I need to be doing something, so sitting there with a half asleep baby is precious, but gets a little boring after a while. So, I loved my nook. And, when I would get done with one book, I would just download another. There are also a lot of free books, which makes it nice when you don’t have a lot of cash…

My only gripe is that at some point, my book dies…Then I have to sit near a plug in or find something else to do…Oh, the horror! just kidding…

I have to say, I do wear the battery out faster than the average person. I have talked to people and they love how long their battery lasts (a week or more for them). Me, I can kill the battery before the day is out. But, that is only if I have the whole day to read.

And yes, I know that I am weird, I can read all day and enjoy it. In fact, I would get in trouble in school for reading…Can you believe that? I also can read abnormally fast. I read the final Harry potter book in about 7-8 hours.

Conclusion: love the nook…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 11:03 pm

    Last I counted I had near 150 on my nook. I also use nook for PC. When writing papers for English it makes it is so easy to find quotes and words by using the search. At first I like the paper book because I found pages easily again by my notes. Now I know how to use the note feature in nook, SWEET!

    My latest highly referred nook book was Shantaram, haven’t read it yet, just downloaded it.

  2. February 21, 2011 12:58 am

    hey, tidbit about your nook, when the battery dies, go plug it in and then hop on over to the lap top, you can start right where you left off on your book.

    I have nook for pc which is so cool because it is in color even though my nook is not. I just downloaded about 5 Thomas the Tank Engine books for Harrison and I to read together. COOLIO! I got color and didn’t have to buy the nookCOLOR!

Leave a Reply

